Being veggie…!!!

Was out for a dinner with a few friends last night. During the casual discussion of how the day was spent, one of my friends, who was sitting next to me said that he had “Biryaani” during lunch! Chicken Biryaani…!!! Arghhhh…!!! I couldn’t continue my dinner comfortably. Okay, for all who don’t know, I’m a hardcore vegetarian! As in, I could not imagine myself sitting next to the person who had gulped an innocent chicken just a few hours before. The pictures of that poor life residing into my friend’s stomach were flashing in my mind.
This may sound funny to read. But on a serious note, we crib so much when we find a cockroach or any small insect in the food. How can we be happy killing million such innocent lives, of chicken, of goats, of cows and what not, only to satisfy our taste buds? Imagine, A chicken is being killed “live” in front of you!!! Can you see that? Can you bear that? I guess not. Ek zindagii kii peeda hum kaise dekh sakte hain? And if it is about being health-conscious, fit and strong, look at veggies! They’re absolutely fit and fine. So can everyone else be, without being a non-vegetarian!
6 thoughts on “Being veggie…!!!

  1. sneha March 15, 2010 at 4:22 am Reply

    Hey I agree with you as I too am a hardcore vegetarian..But after staying in Pune for the last 4 years, I have come to the conclusion that veg or non-veg is totally a person's own discretion. You just cannot expect people to turn veggies. Its their personal choice. As I always say, don't EXPECT!!

  2. Pratik March 15, 2010 at 4:31 am Reply

    It is indeed a matter of personal choice. I'm putting my point across! and when it comes to choice, people really can choose to be veggies!

  3. somethinfresh March 16, 2010 at 4:14 pm Reply

    I tried to become a vegan a couple of years ago. But then I went to Goa, and everything changed!

  4. GurNeet March 19, 2010 at 12:22 pm Reply

    Reading this article reminded me of an interview of Shakuntala Devi…the human computer.She was asked the secret to her powerful brain..and she said.."Its just that i am a vegetarian."Cheers to veggies!!!

  5. saintiwara March 30, 2010 at 12:31 pm Reply

    I agree completely with you Pratik. Veggies can also be fit. I am a complete vegetarian, maybe not a hardcore vegetarian(I can sit across the table with some NON-VEG food but I ll never eat it).But I do feel for the innocent lives.Nice post. Cheers All veggies.–Sandy

  6. Anuja April 6, 2010 at 12:13 pm Reply

    A very nice topic which people very conveniently ans insensitively ignore…Be sensitive guys!!

Leave a Reply

