Happy (?) Birthday…

My Birthday’s approaching… I’ll be 21. No huge excitement as such. I fail to find anything special about birthday now-a-days. It just gives me another reason to celebrate and treat myself. The childhood excitement about birthday is long forgotten.  However, it does feel nice when your loved ones wish you. I consider myself fortunate enough to have been surrounded by people who love me, care for me and are my well-wishers.

Birthday, by societal perspective, is treated to be special and significant. On your birthday, you’re the master of the day, the center of attraction! Is it really the case for everyone?
I can think of a certain Nandu Kaka, who works in a mine. His wife did a tika to him in the morning before he left for the work. Work’s worship for him. He can’t skip the important work even if it is HIS day. No time for celebration, eh!

Or consider a Veer Jawaan Sandeep Singh. It’s his day. His beloved Mumma gave him a call this morning, with loads n loads of blessings. He talked to his newly wed wife. He only wished if she was there with him. But there he was, fighting on the border. “Would this be the day bring me death, too?”, thinks He.


and then there’s this 7 year old cute Niharika. She’s been dressed like a princess today. She is waiting for a few of her friends to come up so they all can start the celebration. It’s a theme party. Baloons, beautiful candles, decoration, a huge cake, chocolates, return gifts, relatives and so many little angels…!!! Her parents have left no stone unturned to make their daughter’s day special.


And Munnibai! The eunuch…!!! She’s just hoping this day allows her to take a rest from her usual routine of roaming around the streets, clap in a certain manner, collect money and offer ‘dua'(blessings). Isn’t there anyone to bless her? She’s only been thinking of how beautiful in childhood this day used to be, until…!


On the other hand, you have this 18-year old super rich kid, Arjun. His dad gifts him a car today. He’s thinking of going to a long car drive with his secret girlfriend. He’s already made plans. A beachside resort, a candlelight dinner, a bottle of wine…


What about those innumerable malnourished, underprivileged children on street? Can’t they get their own pie of cake, bought/made only for them?


There’s also this old couple, Mr. and Mrs. Joshi! Their children have been away, set out to make their own careers and families. Mr. Joshi has planned a few small and cute things for his beloved wife’s Birthday. A walk down the memory lane – a collage of their old photographs! A lunch specially cooked for her. A “Gajra”. 2 Tickets for a recently released Play. A poem specially written for Mrs. Joshi by Mr. Joshi…


What about all those choiceless sex workers or maybe their children??? No different ‘business’ even if it’s a special day, eh?


and then there are many of those, who don’t even know the day they were born. Couldn’t they enjoy this special day even once?


This special day, indeed, brings different meanings to different classes and creeds of people. And as I think about all those people mentioned above, I feel small. I don’t find anything special about me and my birthday. I start thinking. I can simply treat this day like just another day. Or I can still consider it special to celebrate my existence. My luxury to treat this day the way I want it makes me want to attach to it some meaning and significance beyond the normal. It makes me want to think beyond my own. If it has to be special, it can be special in several meaningful ways. 
What meaning can I find in my ‘special day’? The answer slowly begins to unveil in front of me as I pose this very question.
How can you all make your special day, your birthday… meaningful and beautiful? And I am not imposing that it always ought to be meaningful. But if special occasions like Birthdays call for it, we should think, right?
update: I’ve received some really great and honest comments on this post. Do have a look at them if you’ve liked or have not liked this post. Also lined up are my reply comments. I hope I’ve conveyed my thought well. Enjoy Reading.
27 thoughts on “Happy (?) Birthday…

  1. akshay gugale April 17, 2010 at 9:42 am Reply

    great going….i lyk d thought….awesome 😉

  2. sneha April 17, 2010 at 10:22 am Reply

    Awesome post!! Loved it.. And yeah, the excitement does fade away as you grow up..(P.S.: I am aware of your birthday bug..it starts affecting you in March itself (remember last year's project??))

  3. Pratik April 17, 2010 at 10:39 am Reply

    @Sneha, lolz…!!! The bug is weird… The last year's project times were quite memorable ones indeed 🙂

  4. NEER April 17, 2010 at 12:35 pm Reply

    Intense! my dear friend!You have made me ponder…I am sure you would make your b'day special by making it special for some one deprived!Pity i don't know your birthday? 😦 I hope Facebook will remind me! :PGreat post dude!Care,Neer

  5. Shweta Shetty April 17, 2010 at 1:27 pm Reply

    Nice one! Really thought-provoking…..

  6. Simply madhur! April 17, 2010 at 2:18 pm Reply

    Man, u r good, really good!!

  7. pratik gupta April 17, 2010 at 2:28 pm Reply

    Hey nice one… brings in the lives of all the elements of the society… Making us think of whats special about the DAY for each of these people… Simply awesome… 🙂

  8. Simply madhur! April 17, 2010 at 2:49 pm Reply

    N I really suck at commenting! hard to find right words! damn!

  9. swaraj bhore April 17, 2010 at 3:06 pm Reply

    everyone should think like that….in the current scenario (IT clg…3-4 lac placement…basically the money oriented),everyone spend lots of money on partys….can be utilise that for much better purpose…..and if u know,a student named MAHESH SABLE (V.I.T-B.E) who is placed in NVIDIA..his kidney is failed and he requires 27 lac rupees for operation…his daily budget is around 20,000.(this is just suggestion..u may hv different plans)

  10. Rujuta April 17, 2010 at 4:34 pm Reply

    i liked ur thought a lot ! but i feel that a birthday is special and its not so cz how u or anyone celebrate it its cz ur kind of celebrating ur own existence and i believe that no matter where or how u are , one shud always and always be happy for himself..cz u exist! fr a reason 😛 great post and keep blogging !!!

  11. Pratik April 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm Reply

    @Rujuta, you made a good point. No matter if someone celebrates the day for you or not you should always be happy for yourself. maybe I din't mention one point: "How many of us get the privilege of celebrating our own existence?" I look at many people. They think their life is not worth it. Hope they see happiness and joy around them 🙂

  12. Anuja April 17, 2010 at 5:10 pm Reply

    A very nice thought making us see beyond ourselves…. the flow is great… loved it…cheers.

  13. Ankita Chandak April 17, 2010 at 5:38 pm Reply

    As always,very beautiful..thought provoking..inspires to think beyond oneself..seriously..great blog..:)

  14. Sumitra Madhav April 17, 2010 at 5:48 pm Reply

    So you finally wrote this! Man,you act fast! Prats you always get me thinking and this blog is no different! Birthdays are meant to be special I guess, but its the way we make it special that really counts! We're born into this materialistic world where gifts speak much more than a simple birthday wish. Why so I really don't know. I hope this blog makes us all react a little less selfish and a lot more giving on all our birthdays! Cheers! Keep writing 🙂

  15. rishikesh April 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Its very nice!!I liked ur thought bt I think everyone has problems in life….bt dats life n u should njoy every moment of it…Definitely one should help others n make them smile…bt one can do dis only when he is happy n smiling…so be happy!!njoy ur day n keep smiling!!!

  16. Pratik April 17, 2010 at 6:19 pm Reply

    @Rishi, Kharay!!! Problems astaatch. We who have got all treasures of life need to be a little more aware though. I'm not guilty about my share of happiness. I'm just talking about sharing and spreading that happiness and joy…

  17. GurNeet April 20, 2010 at 1:01 pm Reply

    What a brilliant thought!…finding a meaning in that special day…A wonderful post that makes one observe, think, act…and share.Its a unique perception of the "special day".Anyway, have a rocking birthday!

  18. sanyogita April 20, 2010 at 5:05 pm Reply

    Really nice post 🙂 khoop sunder lihiyes:)Wanted to make one different point.. On that special day,we can thank everyone who has given significance and real meaning to our lives…Many a times we feel that orphan children are deprived of love..but in reality our parents, our loved one's are deprived of those two words which can tell them how much we love them.. so we can make this day special by telling them how nice and loving they have been..loved your post ..keep blogging 🙂

  19. FrostBite April 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm Reply

    Your birthday is always a special occasion….do anything, its memorable….meaningful….well, do what your heart tells, not your brain and it will be meaningful as well…..my opinion….that apart…..honestly written…..very good!

  20. Pratik April 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm Reply

    @Sanyogita and Manan, I loved both of yours comments… Truly Enlightening…!!! \m/

  21. Dhaval April 24, 2010 at 10:11 am Reply

    Dude, if you are in a good IT company you will be able to take your day off next year, and if you are in a better one, your bday might be better off in office with people in office. But ya we shall come to know only next year. So what did you actually do on your bday?

  22. Your Friend April 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm Reply

    Hi

  23. Anuj April 26, 2011 at 5:19 am Reply

    \m/

  24. Your Friend whom you might have forgotten..... April 26, 2011 at 2:29 pm Reply

    Hi Pratik, how are you…. Good post…. nice thought processing of yours….Good !….
    You have a very good skill of observing the things around through different perspectives….
    Carry on !
    All The Best !!!

  25. Pratik April 26, 2011 at 2:46 pm Reply

    Thanks Guys…

    @Your friend…. who are you dude?/duddette?

  26. The Same Friend....whom..... April 27, 2011 at 8:30 am Reply

    That I will never tell you…
    Don't try to uncover me….
    Thanks !!!

  27. Pratik April 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm Reply

    arghhhh… please!!!

Leave a Reply

