There are only lessons in Life…

Experienced a small but very defining incidence recently and hence sharing it:

Place: A Ganpati Pandal, right in the heart of a very crowded chowk (Nal Stop) in Pune.

Time: Peak Traffic Hours, 7.30PM. The traffic’s really bad at Nal stop at this time of the day.

Description: A healthy guy in his 30’s with Pan/Gutkha in his mouth, was playing very loud and irritating music at the Pandal. He looked very rowdy. I started hating him in first glance itself. Let’s call him Pandal manager.

So, I was waiting near that Pandal for a friend. We were supposed to meet at a restaurant close to the Pandal. I was in my own thoughts and had already started making judgments and heavy criticism about all the Hungama that people create in Ganesh festivals. My thoughts were interrupted by a loud ambulance siren. The signal at the chowk was Red. Huge PMTs were lined up.  I felt helpless for the ambulance ‘coz there was barely any way it could make through. Vehicles were not moving. A bumper to bumper traffic situation. And to add to the misery, the noise levels at the Pandal were so high that I doubted whether vehicles upfront could listen to the siren and make some moves for the ambulance to pass. I started cursing the Pandal manager even more. I felt like going to that Pandal manager and ask him to stop the music. And to my surprise, he had already started lowering the volume. He infact stopped the music and quickly rushed towards ambulance. I could see there that if one or two vehicles could just shift towards their left, the ambulance could have made it. I thought I should go there and help to save the situation. By then, the Pandal manager had taken the control of traffic. He made 2-3 vehicles move and Bingo! The ambulance got its away. My sophisticated and restricted mindset felt pathetic. It needed more presence of mind to save the situation. I could not stop appreciating the Pandal manager that he was quick enough to act. Who knows his quick thinking and action probably saved a life!!! Kudos to the Pandal manager.

Well, this incidence is open to interpretations, opinions and comments. I don’t want to provide any conclusion. I don’t want to make any statement on humanity, presence of mind and blah, blah either. I’ll only share what I learned through this incidence that

“There’s so much to learn even from a person whom I don’t like apparently at the first glance. What I see in a person at the first glance is just the illusion. Instead of being judgmental, I should focus upon the fact that there’s so much of learning. Just because I’m qualified, well-educated and a white-collar job holder civilian, it does not mean that I’m superior. अहम् में, गुरूर में और नफरत में काफी दरवाज़े बंद हो जाते हैं. Stay Humble, Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish!!! Let’s stop making judgments ‘coz nothing can be generalized!”

Thanks to my friend who was 5 min. late. Those 5 minutes certainly shook my beliefs to some extent.
22 thoughts on “There are only lessons in Life…

  1. @mey.. September 16, 2010 at 10:52 am Reply

    Really a very good observation …. I fully agree with you…I guess every body should be like a “sponge” in some what sense…only the soaking capacity to learn new things should be varied accordingly!!! ( I don't know whether I have used a proper metaphor here or not but still this is what I feel from this post!!)

  2. Vinay Bhalerao September 16, 2010 at 10:52 am Reply

    Really…we sometimes (or always) misinterpret the things.

  3. Aruna September 16, 2010 at 10:54 am Reply

    nice post ! n very true..appearances can be deceptive !

  4. MUGDHA gOEL September 16, 2010 at 11:32 am Reply

    @Vinay: and people too quite often

  5. Anuja September 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm Reply

    Nice one… u bring a very common human tendency into picture… of prejudicing against people without knowing anything about them…
    good job…

  6. FrostBite September 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm Reply

    Good piece…..and well written!

  7. pratik gupta September 16, 2010 at 2:42 pm Reply

    nice post.. We should never judge anyone..

  8. Shweta Shetty September 16, 2010 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Nice post! And I liked the new look too (of the blog):)

  9. Pankhuri September 16, 2010 at 5:05 pm Reply

    Nice one! Keep writing

  10. sum September 17, 2010 at 2:53 am Reply

    Prats, I'm reading your blog after a long time. All I have to say is there is something much more resounding in your words now. I can't explain what, but it definitely is one of your best “writes” this particular article. Maybe you know why.

    Keep at it!

  11. Sanyo September 17, 2010 at 3:21 am Reply

    nice and very true 🙂 btw i loved your blog's template 🙂

  12. sushantkumar September 17, 2010 at 5:48 am Reply

    aavdla…

  13. Manish Shirsat September 17, 2010 at 11:41 am Reply

    nice post…

  14. Sneha September 17, 2010 at 1:01 pm Reply

    Nice!! Only strengthens my belief that “All people are inherently nice and sweet, its only the circumstances which make them do something not-so-appropriate ..”

  15. innermost September 18, 2010 at 6:16 am Reply

    Good one Pratik!

  16. pras September 18, 2010 at 6:12 pm Reply

    A book can't be judged by its cover. So true.Good one.

  17. PDJ September 19, 2010 at 8:25 am Reply

    jamlay ..
    the guy reminds me of santosh juvekar's character in Zenda..

  18. Rupali September 19, 2010 at 5:07 pm Reply

    wonderfully written…
    actually its quite a minute & instant thought tat comes 2 every1's mind I guess!!!

  19. NEER September 24, 2010 at 10:02 am Reply

    I really like your topics Pratik.

    It amazes me how observant you are, and how you always try to improve your attitude towards understanding life.

    Reading your blogs always teaches me something.

    Care,
    Neer

  20. Pratik September 25, 2010 at 5:34 am Reply

    Thanks a lot everyone…

    Neer, your comment is an achievement for me… Thanks a ton 🙂

  21. Pranjal Jain October 28, 2010 at 8:25 pm Reply

    awesome one pratik!! serious kudos..really appreciate your attitude towards life..

  22. GurNeet October 31, 2011 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Good work..
    As i began to read..i expected it to be something else but turned out…it was a wonderful piece !
    And, nicely put too.

Leave a Reply

