About the time when I saw an accident and did nothing

“Hello, hang on there for 5 minutes. Let me follow your bike, since I don’t know the route to the auditorium.” A friend called me while I was on my way to an auditorium in the heart of the city, to watch a drama. It was already getting late. I told him I would drive slowly until he catches me. I took a left lane and started driving slowly. And in a matter of 30 seconds, to my horror, I saw a 2-wheeler skid. It had just passed by me. I noticed there were two 20-something girls on the bike. The one driving – couldn’t notice the speed-breaker on the sloping road. The vehicle because of its top speed just flew off a bit in the air and skidded down. While the girl who was driving could quickly get up, the pillion lay down unconscious on the busy highway road. The mob quickly gathered. They lifted the girl lying down and took her aside on a footpath. Thankfully there was no blood spilled. But the girl was still unconscious. I was only observing. In such situations, I don’t usually like to be a mere spectator and create a road block. I simply pass by, if it looks sure that there are people to take care of the situation. But I stopped by, more because I had to wait for my friend anyway. I could have easily got off my bike and offered some help. But I did not do that. I wanted to leave from there immediately after my friend’s arrival. Getting late for the drama bothered me more.

While she was being taken to the footpath, somebody in the mob shouted for water. I looked around to see if somebody’s getting water for her. I noticed a medical shop. Getting a water bottle from there was easier. But I just did not get off. I was totally acting like a passive LOSER witness. Then all of a sudden it struck to me that I was carrying a water bottle. I paused for a second or two to check if someone else was getting water from anywhere. Another woman was trying to check whether she had any water left with her. I shouldn’t have waited and thought as much before offering the water. I felt disgusted with myself and quickly took out the bottle from the bag and offered. The girl was still unconscious. A man began sprinkling water on her face and started feeding her some water through her mouth. I was still on my vehicle observing and thinking. I could not thank enough to the fact that I wear a helmet everyday. The helmet has become old, it is not at all fancy. It spoils my hair everyday (I’m obsessed with my hair). But life is too precious to lose because of an unnatural incident, so I wear a helmet. And I could not thank my friend enough who had called me and asked me to hang on. I had slowed down and had changed the side. Otherwise, who knows I could have dashed into the accident as well. I then started pondering about when my friend would come, so that I would take the water bottle back and leave. I checked – the man was still feeding water to her. I was wondering as to when the usage of the bottle would get over, so that I could quickly leave. And another thought flashed my mind, “Wait, what! There’s this woman who’s lying unconscious because of a frigging accident. The least you can do is to pray for her; and all you care about is – your water bottle!!!” I felt like a complete LOSER. I loathed myself. I thought I did not deserve to be there at that place, in that crowd who was handling the situation with sheer humanity, willingness to help and quick action. I decided to leave the scene, without the water bottle.

15 thoughts on “About the time when I saw an accident and did nothing

  1. Aditya Rao January 24, 2012 at 6:06 am Reply

    Now I know why you wanted me to buy a helmet. But dont beat yourselves up on this incident, there is something called shock.

    And, there are worse people around in this world, than people who could not help someone else during an accident. Lets think about elimintaing them first 🙂

  2. Pankhuri January 24, 2012 at 8:00 am Reply

    Takes courage to write that.

    There are times when we feel guilty about our thoughts, not just our actions. Mark that incident, note how you felt about it and why, and then keep it aside.

    Sometimes we subconsciously calculate the situation and decide our attitude. Maybe you would've proactively helped had those people not been there already..

    In such situations, it is more important that the victim is helped at the right time. That did happen. So it's ok.

    PS: Everyone's changing their theme to Dynamic Views..!

  3. Nikhil January 24, 2012 at 8:16 am Reply

    You did what you had to. But believe me, I've seen people not wanting to lift a soon-to-be-dead body just because they're scared of blood. Even when that body is of someone they grew up with and even if that blood was of someone who shared a relation with them, in blood! As mentioned above, takes courage to even loathe oneself for all of it.:)

  4. Pratik Munot January 24, 2012 at 8:26 am Reply

    Couldn't agree more with you Pankhuri and Nikhil.

    “Sometimes we subconsciously calculate the situation and decide our attitude. Maybe you would've proactively helped had those people not been there already..

    In such situations, it is more important that the victim is helped at the right time. That did happen. So it's ok.”

    Exactly my thought! The post is more about the selfish thoughts I had, during the incident. I'll try to be a little more proactive and a little less selfish next time 🙂

    Thanks so much for your comments

  5. Atreyee January 25, 2012 at 5:45 am Reply

    Hey Prat, kudos to you to have written such a post! People usually write only about their achievements or something good they did or to criticize others. But to have written something like this, needs a lot of guts. And to think of the horrendous accident that happened just today morning near Swargate… gives me shudders! People who help in such cases are really brave and strong.

  6. FrostBite January 25, 2012 at 6:53 am Reply

    Well written…….and people need to read this……and wear helmets while riding bikes…next time be prepared better…..

  7. Janice January 25, 2012 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Very thoughful blog, Patty!!
    Instead of ensurin that she got the reqd help, we should question ourselves that y we weren't the first ones to help her out…i came across a similar situation some months back, n i was just a passive spectator..
    we think we have the fire in our belly….bt it nvr seemes to come out when needed the most..
    Why are we so reluctant to take initiative?
    We have a tendency to seek consolation in the fact that “others” are doin somethin..be it an accident or an anti-corruption movement..

  8. Pratik Munot January 25, 2012 at 12:14 pm Reply

    +1000 to what you said Janice.

    “Instead of ensurin that she got the reqd help, we should question ourselves that y we weren't the first ones to help her out” and “we think we have the fire in our belly….bt it nvr seemes to come out when needed the most..”

    Completely Agree

  9. NEERAJ JOSHI January 30, 2012 at 12:15 am Reply

    I can totally understand what you been through! Has happened to me! Sometimes, we become too occupied with our thoughts and just do not act soon! These experiences teach valuable lessons. Rest assured, you won't let it happen again! 🙂 I need to buy a helmet!

  10. Parag kale(Pk) February 1, 2012 at 7:15 pm Reply

    This happens always with most of us.
    We don't want to fail nor we want to be the topper, but we will surely put efforts to save our skin, and then we always live in a dilemma thinking whether it was correct or not.

    But, lets learn out of this, lets not be eccentric.
    Lesson,
    Apart from helmet, we also need to carry a bottle filled with water 🙂

    Keep posting 🙂

  11. Pratik Munot April 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm Reply

    Thanks so much for this comment Pankhuri 🙂 Sorry, this comes late

  12. Pratik Munot April 27, 2012 at 12:10 pm Reply

    Thanks PK 🙂 Sorry for the late comment on this 🙂

  13. Pratik Munot April 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Thanks Atreyee. Really appreciate your comment

  14. Pratik Munot April 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Thanks Manya 🙂

  15. Pratik Munot April 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm Reply

    Agree with you NEER 🙂

Leave a Reply

